Flotsam And Jetsam Guitarist Hails Latest Album as “Our Heaviest Release Yet”

Arizona metallers double down on their thrash roots with their strongest outing since No Place For Disgrace

Flotsam and Jetsam, the Phoenix-based five-piece led by originals A.K. and guitarist Michael Gilbert (along with longtime bassist Michael Spencer, guitarist Steve Conley and drummer Ken Mary) entered the fray at the dawn of thrash way back in the 80s, back when pay phones were still a thing and most people had never heard of the Internet. Yet while their 1986 debut, Doomsday For The Deceiver, served up a legitimate contender among the other historic releases that year, the band would ironically gain their first taste of notoriety after bassist Jason Newsted left their ranks to join Metallica.

Like old school holdouts Overkill and Death Angel, Flotsam and Jetsam remained wholly-committed to their original thrash blueprint, churning out over a dozen thrash records over the ensuing decades. Consequently, while Metallica, Megadeth and Anthrax would each evolve their sound over the years, finding wider commercial attentions in their flirtations with stadium rock, soundtracks and hip hop.  Flotsam and Jetsam stayed true to the Bay Area sound, emerging as impassioned favorites among the denim-and-leather diehards.

Their latest album, The End Of Chaos, drops on January 18, 2019. The End Of Chaos is “our heaviest release yet and can’t wait to share the chaos across the globe,” guitarist Michael Gilbert has said, adding, “A.K.’s (vocalist Eric “A.K.” Knutson) vocals are what makes our band and who we are. He’s very unique, there is nobody else like him. He’s a fantastic singer. But the dude gets better and better.”

The band describe the new record as, loaded with 12 crushing songs that clock in at nearly 50 minutes, so for traditional thrashers there is plenty bone to chew on. Like a prize-fighter that refuses to kneel down, Flotsam And Jetsam tread onward with black eyes and bloody noses. It’s the youthful exuberance and a certain ‘we don’t give a flying fuck about age or time’ mentality. And the kinetic energy that they exude on stage is quite contrary to their street persona.”

“We’ve been through a lot of crap,” A.K. says. “For a while I had a lineup with me that was just together to go out on vacations then have the promoters pay for it. And it’s a little different now, we are back to a real band making a stab at growing and becoming a bigger entity in the music industry. Our goal in writing a record, is to put out the coolest music we
can. The End Of Chaos hits the mark.”

Flotsam And Jetsam release their blistering new album ‘The End Of Chaos‘ on 18th January on AFM Records.

Flotsam and Jetsam are: Eric “AK” Knutson (Vocals), Steve Conley (Guitar), Michael Gilbert (Guitar), Michael Spencer (Bass), Ken Mary (Drums)

Pre-order The End Of Chaos here: http://smarturl.it/TheEndOfChaos